ASSOCIATION OF DRAINAGE AUTHORITIES – TRENT BRANCH Minutes of the Sixty Sixth AGM held on Wednesday 14th June 2017

Representatives of the following Branch member Authorities were present:-

Doncaster East Internal Drainage Board
Isle of Axholme and North Nottinghamshire Water Level Management Board
Scunthorpe and Gainsborough Water Management Board
Trent Valley Internal Drainage Board
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council
Environment Agency

Guests and Speakers:-

Henry Cator, Chairman, ADA
Robert Caudwell, Vice Chairman, ADA
Innes Thomson, Chief Executive, ADA
Robert Fletcher, Chairman, ADA Lincolnshire Branch
Peter Bateson, Secretary, ADA Lincolnshire Branch
Eddy Allen, Secretary, ADA Northern Branch
Paul Lockhart, Area Flood and Coastal Risk Manager, EA
Ian Russell, Partnerships Manager, EA

Welcome/Introductions/Announcements

The Chairman welcomed all delegates and guests to the 66th Annual General Meeting and Conference.

Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Ian Moodie, Tim Webster, Vij Randeniya, Mark Wagstaff, Robert Adam, Sue Jaques, Rod Chapman, John Bowler, Ray Sutherland, Paul Goldsmith, Paul Jones, John Miller and Ken Durdy.

3. Minutes of the 65th AGM held on the 15th June 2016

The minutes of the 65th AGM held on the 15th June 2016 were included for information only as they had previously been approved and adopted at the EA/IDB Liaison meeting held on 9th November 2016.

4. Minutes of the Branch meeting held on the 23rd February 2017

All AGREED that the minutes of the Branch meeting held on the 23rd February 2017 were a true record and these were subsequently approved and adopted.

Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

6. Accounts for the period 1st April 2016 to 31st March 2017

The Secretary presented the Branch accounts which had been signed and circulated with the agenda. He stated that the accounts showed a period end balance of £2,042.85. It was noted that there had been a small deficit of £54.14 in year.

It was proposed by Will Staunton and seconded by Tim Farr that the accounts for the year ended 31st March 2017 be adopted.

7. Confirmation of Branch Officers

Members noted the confirmed Branch Officers as follows:-

Chairman and ADA Director – Malcolm Harris Vice-Chairman – William Staunton Honorary Secretary – David Sisson Honorary Auditors – Craig Benson and Simon Thackray The Chairman informed members that his term of office as a Director on the ADA Board would end on the 31st March 2018 and that he would be standing down.

Dates of future meetings

Members noted the following dates:-

Branch Meeting – Thursday 22nd February 2018 (venue to be confirmed and meeting to be hosted by the Isle of Axholme and North Nottinghamshire Water Level Management Board. **AGM and Conference** – Thursday 7th June 2018 (venue to be confirmed). **EA/IDB Liaison Meeting** – Thursday 23rd November 2017. **ADA Conference** – Thursday 16th November 2017.

9. Any other business

The Chairman made a suggestion to hold future Branch meetings jointly with the ADA Northern Branch. The Secretary of the Northern Branch, Eddy Allen stated that he was open to discussions and suggested a future meeting be set up.

The Secretary of the Lincolnshire Branch, Peter Bateson, commented that his Branch and the Welland and Nene Branch of ADA already have this joint arrangement in place.

Innes Thomson fully supported this suggestion.

There being no further business the Chairman closed the meeting at 10.15 a.m.

The conference session followed the meeting and the following presentations were made;

- ADA National Update Innes Thomson (Chief Executive) and Henry Cator (Chairman)
- Environment Agency Matters
 - o Humber Flood Risk Management Strategy Morgan Wray
 - o Programme Delivery Units (PDUs) Paul Lockhart
 - Keadby Pumping Station Update Kelly Golds
 - IOA Flood Risk Management Strategy (General Update) Emily Mayle and Andrew Haigh
 - East Midlands Public Section Co-operation Agreements (PSCAs) Carl Wharmby and Andrew Haigh
 - o Public Sector Co-operation Agreements The National Picture Ian Russell

In close of the conference session, the Chairman thanked the speakers for their contributions and encouraged IDB Board members to attend future meetings.