MINUTES OF THE 65th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING AND CONFERENCE HELD ON 15TH June 2016

Representatives of the following Branch member Authorities were present:-

Doncaster East Internal Drainage Board
Isle of Axholme and North Nottinghamshire Water Level Management Board
Scunthorpe and Gainsborough Water Management Board
Sow and Penk Internal Drainage Board
Trent Valley Internal Drainage Board
Bassetlaw District Council
Nottinghamshire County Council
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council
North Lincolnshire Council
Environment Agency
Trent Regional Flood and Coastal Committee

Guests and Speakers:-

Henry Cator, Chairman, ADA
Innes Thomson, Chief Executive, ADA
John Dennis, Retiring Chairman, ADA Northern Branch
Eddy Allen, Secretary, ADA Northern Branch
Robert Fletcher, Chairman, ADA Lincolnshire Branch
Peter Bateson, Secretary, ADA Lincolnshire Branch
Vij Randeniya, Chairman Designate, Trent Regional Flood and Coastal Committee (EA)
David Hoskins, FCRM Advisor and IDB/EA Liaison (EA)
Morgan Wray, Team Leader, FCRM, Partnership and Strategic Overview (EA)
Andy Haigh, Team Leader, Asset Performance (N) (EA)
Alison Briggs, Environment Officer, Shire Group of IDBs

1. Welcome/Introductions/Announcements

The Chairman welcomed all delegates and guests to the 65th Annual General Meeting and Conference.

The Chairman stated that it is a very important time for IDBs in view of the Isle of Axholme Strategy and engagement with the Environment Agency regarding the potential de-maining of main rivers and transfer of assets.

Members gave a round of applause to Board member Fred Paling who shared his 90th birthday on the same day as the Queen.

In closing his introductions and welcomes, the Chairman re-iterated the need for IDBs to encourage younger people into the industry.

2. Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from William Staunton, Ian Moodie, Tim Webster, Matt Goodall, Ivor Walker, Paul Lockhart, Michael Brooke and Adrian Black.

3. Minutes of the 64th AGM held on the 10th June 2015

It was proposed by John Briggs and seconded by John Coggon that the minutes of the 64th Annual General Meeting held on the 10th June 2015 be approved as a true record.

4. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

5. Accounts for the period 1st April 2015 to 31st March 2016

The Secretary presented the Branch accounts which had been signed and circulated with the agenda. He stated that the accounts showed a period end balance of £2,096.99. It was noted that there had been a small loss of £46.98 in year.

It was proposed by John Briggs and seconded by Ray Sutherland that the accounts for the year ended 31st March 2016 be adopted.

The Secretary confirmed that invoices for 2016/2017 Branch subscriptions of £45 would be issued to Branch members in due course.

6. Election of Chairman

One nomination for the post of Chairman of the Branch had been received prior to the AGM. This was for Malcolm Harris, Chairman of Isle of Axholme and North Nottinghamshire Water Level Management Board, proposed by William Staunton, Chairman of Trent Valley IDB and seconded by John Miller, Vice-Chairman of Trent Valley IDB.

There were no further nominations at the meeting and it was a unanimous decision that Malcolm Harris be reelected as Chairman of the Branch for a period of three years.

7. Election of Honorary Secretary

One nomination for the post of Honorary Secretary to the Branch had been received prior to the AGM. This was for David Sisson, Engineer to the Boards, Water Management Consortium, proposed by William Staunton, Chairman of Trent Valley IDB and seconded by John Miller, Vice-Chairman of Trent Valley IDB.

There were no further nominations at the meeting and it was a unanimous decision that David Sisson be re-elected as Honorary Secretary to the Branch for a period of three years.

8. Confirmation of Branch Officers 2016/2017

Members noted the confirmed Branch Officers:

Vice-Chairman – William Staunton ADA Board Member – Malcolm Harris Honorary Auditors – Craig Benson and Simon Thackray

Minutes of the ADA Branch meeting held on 11th February 2016

It was proposed by Ron Allcock and seconded by Ray Sutherland that the minutes of the Branch meeting held on 11th February 2016 be approved as a true record.

The Secretary confirmed that the minutes of this Annual General Meeting would be presented to the EA/IDB Liaison Group meeting on the 9th November 2016 for approval.

Dates of future meetings

The following dates were noted:-

Branch Meeting – Thursday 23rd February 2017 AGM and Conference – Wednesday 14th June 2017 EA/IDB Liaison Meeting – 9th November 2016 ADA Conference – 17th November 2016

11. Any other business

None.

There being no further business the Chairman closed the meeting at 10.20 a.m.