Regional Flood & Coastal Committees


Each Regional Flood & Coastal Committee (RFCC) is a committee established by the Environment Agency under the Flood & Water Management Act 2010. The Environment Agency must consult with RFCCs about flood and coastal risk management (FCRM) work in their region and take their comments into consideration. RFCCs approve the annual programme of FCRM work in their region and set the local levy that funds FCRM activities within the region that are a local priority.

Each RFCC brings together members appointed by Lead Local Flood Authorities (LLFAs) and independent members with relevant experience who are appointed by the Environment Agency. The Committee’s chair is appointed by Defra. There are currently 12 RFCCs across England, each covering a distinct regional area based on river catchments (see map below).

All RFCC meetings are open to the public. The Regional Flood and Coastal Committees (England and Wales) Regulations 2011 specify the membership, appointment and proceedings for RFCCs. If you would like to know more, visit your local RFCC webpage from the links below.

RFCC’s three key purposes are:

  • to ensure there are coherent plans for identifying, communicating and managing flood and coastal erosion risks across catchments and shorelines
  • to encourage efficient, targeted and risk-based investment in flood and coastal erosion risk management that represents value for money and benefits local communities
  • to provide a link between the Environment Agency, LLFAs, other risk management authorities, and other relevant bodies to build understanding of flood and coastal erosion risks in its area

Regional Flood & Coastal Committees A-Z List