National Flood Resilience Review terms of reference published

Following Storm Desmond in December 2015 the Government announced a National Flood Resilience Review to be chaired by the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, Oliver Letwin.

The Government announced on 26 January that the Review will focus on four areas:

  • updating climate modelling and stress-testing the nation’s resilience to flood risk;
  • assessing the resilience of our important infrastructure like electricity substations;
  • temporary defences; and
  • the Government’s future investment strategy.

Review team will include the Government’s Chief Scientist, Defra, DECC, DCLG, HM Treasury, and the Chief Executive of the Environment Agency, Sir James Bevan. Their findings are set to be published this summer and an update will be provided in the spring.

The Government has stated that the government will begin implementing any short-term measures identified in the autumn, and will begin work to review the longer term strategy, which will include close consultation with the National Infrastructure Commission.

The full terms of reference for the National Flood Resilience Review can be read on the website